Russell F. Weigley Graduate Student Travel Grant Awards

The Russell F. Weigley Graduate Student Travel Grant Awards honor one of the great American military historians of the 20th century and support participation by promising graduate students in the Society's annual meeting. Application information for the 2023 awards can be found here.

2023 Weigley Awards:
Annie Boniface, Harvard University
"Morale over Matter: The U.S. Military and Changing Psychiatric Practices in World War II"

Michael Fitzpatrick, Ohio University
"Late-Cold War Land Doctrines in a Transatlantic Perspective: The United States Army and West German Heer, 1973-1982"

Brittany Huner, University of North Texas
"The WAC is a Soldier Too:' Recruiting the Women's Military Corps During the Second World War"

Susan Long, University of Delaware
"Prisoner of War Management in Revolutionary New York"

Jessica Luepke, University of North Texas
"M*A*S*H*: Radar O’Reilly and Portraying the Image of American Innocence in War"

Jorden Pitt, Texas Christian University
"Psychology, Policy, and Culture: The U.S. Air Force's Regulation of Psychological Illnesses During the Korean War"

Benjamin Remillard, University of New Hampshire
"'We are not a conquered People but allies from the start': Military Service, Memory, and Race after the American Revolution"

2022 Weigley Awards:
Zhongtian Han, George Washington University
"Signal Intelligence and the Rise of Mao in the Long March, 1934–36"

Lindsey Peterson, University of Southern Mississippi
Roundtable Participant, “19th Century U.S. Governors' Papers: Studying the Impact of Union Military Forces on the Process of Emancipation”

Bonnie Cherry, University of California
"Sacrifice and Security: The Case of the Modoc War"

Ann Tran, University of Southern California
Roundtable Participant, "The Elusive Home Front and Its Place in Military History"

Robert Williams, Ohio State University
"Freed From the Tyranny of Terrain: The Cold War Reincarnation of U.S. Cavalry, 1954–1965"

Ryan Reynolds, Mississippi State University
"‘My Dungeon Shook’: James Baldwin, Literature, and American Insurgency"

2021 Weigley Awards:
Hannah Lipsey (University of South Florida)
"The Emergence of the Army Veterinary Corps: Keeping the War Horse Fighting during the First World War."

2020 Weigley Awards:
Marjorie Galelli (University of Kansas)
“Culture and Counterinsurgency: How the War in Iraq Reshaped Military Education”

Thomas Jamison (Harvard University)
“PEACE PEARL: An Ephemeral History of Sino-U.S. Military Cooperation”

Pedro Panera Martínez (Mellado University Institute)
“Prospective of a Conflict (1913-1923): Visions of the Spanish Military and Naval Attachés on War between Japan and the USA”

Colin McConarty (Boston College University)
“The Rise of the New Navy and the Fall of Reconstruction”

Margaret Montgomery (University of Alabama)
“The War Was In the Barracks: Black Wacs, Protest, and Response from the Women’s Army Corps, 1971”

Hosub Shim (University of Kansas)
“‘Politics by Other Means’: The Republic of Korea Forces’ Conduct in the Vietnam War”

2019 Weigley Awards:
Douglas Bell (Texas A&M University)
“Hunting American Style: Debates over American Hunting in Occupied Germany, 1945-1949.”

Tim Clarke (University of Waterloo)
“‘Our Public Constructive Work’: The East African Women’s League and Remembrance Practices in Kenya, 1923-1939.”

Hailey Hasik (University of Southern Mississippi)
“From Combat to Cultural Icon: Unraveling the Legacy of the Helicopter in the Vietnam War.”

Ruth Lawlor (Cambridge University)
“‘Too Hard to Think About’: A Transnational History of Rape in the European Theatre of Operations, World War II.”

Ariel Natalo-Lifton (Temple University)
“The War Stories We Tell: World War II and the Vietnam War in Myth and Memory.”

Sarah Patterson (Florida State University)
“‘The Marines Have Landed and Have the Situation Well in Hand’: Marine Corps Bodies and Masculinity in World War I.”

2018 Weigley Awards:
Ryan Booth, Washington State University
Zoe Buonaiuto, Princeton University
Christopher Goodwin, University of Illinois
Hyeok Hweon Kang, Harvard University
David Krueger, Harvard University
Jennifer Zoebelein, Kansas State University

2017 Weigley Awards:
Amer Batura, Texas Tech University
Avram Lytton, Kings College, London
Uyen (Carie) Nguyen, Texas Tech University
Mihai Poliec, Clark University
Natalie Shibley, University of Pennsylvania
Kate Tietzen, Kansas State University

2016 Weigley Awards:
Gregory Brew, Georgetown University
Dennis J. Cowles, University of Southern Mississippi
Christian Juergens, Florida State University
Julie Powell, The Ohio State University
Gary David Sellick, University of South Carolina
Robert Thompson, University of Southern Mississippi

2015 Weigley Awards:
Olivier Burtin, Princeton University
Daniel Fitzgerald Giblin, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
David A. Harrisville, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Alexander Nordlund, University of Georgia, Athens
Lindsey R. Peterson, University of South Dakota
Tyler D. Sperrazza, Pennsylvania State University

2014 Weigley Awards:
Tyler Bamford, Temple University
Kyle Bracken, Florida State University
Jerome Devitt, Trinity College, Dublin
Ian Johnson, The Ohio State University
Mary Elizabeth Walters, The University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

2013 Weigley Awards:
Caroline D’Amours, University of Ottawa
Margaret Hutchison, Australian National University
Theresa L. Monserrat, University of Southern Mississippi
Emily L. Swafford, University of Chicago

2012 Weigley Awards:
W. Mikkel Dack, University of Calgary
Matthew N. Bucholtz, University of Calgary
Christine E. Leppard, University of Calgary
Thomas Daniel Sheppard, University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill
Christina C. Welsch, Princeton University
Gavin J. Wiens, University of Toronto

2011 Weigley Awards:
Daniel Bessner, Duke University
Martin Clemis, Temple University
Kimberly Lamay, University at Albany, State University of New York
Paul Ramsey, University of Calgary
Lon Strauss, University of Kansas
Corbin Williamson, Texas Tech University

2010 Weigley Awards:
Joshua Wolf, Temple University
John Southard, Texas Tech University
Alexander Herd. University of Calgary
Michael Geheran, Clark University
Joel Christenson, West Virginia University
Rob Shafer, Penn State University

2009 Weigley Awards:
Timothy Orr, Pennsylvania State University
Robyn Rodriguez, The Ohio State University
Shawn Fisher, University of Memphis
Triet Nguyen, University of Ottawa
Timothy Balzer, University of Victoria
John Mitcham, University of Alabama

2008 Weigley Awards:
Mathew Ford, King’s College, London
Andrew Hargreaves, King’s College, London
Lori Ann Henning, Texas A&M University
Eric Klinek, Temple University
Patrick J. Rose, King’s College, London
Jacqueline E. Whitt, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

2007 Weigley Awards:
Barton A. Myers, University of Georgia
John R. Maass, Ohio State University
Jody Perrun, University of Manitoba
Angela Zombek, University of Florida
Jim Flook, University of Florida
Thomas Nester, Texas A&M University

2006 Weigley Awards:
L. Michael Allsep, University of North Carolina
Alexander Heard, University of Calgary
Heather P. Marshall, Duke University
Brian Neumann, Texas A&M University
J. Adam Rogers, Penn State University
Stephen I. Schwab, University of Alabama

2005 Weigley Awards:
Robert C. Blackstone, University of Kansas
John D. Hosler, University of Delaware
Kevin Levin, University of Richmond
John Maass, Ohio State University
Matthew S. Muehlbauer, Temple University
R. Boyd Murphree, Florida State University