Jobs and Fellowships

The Smith Richardson Foundation is pleased to announce its annual Strategy and Policy Fellows grant competition to support young scholars and policy thinkers on American foreign policy, international relations, international security, military policy, and diplomatic and military history.

The purpose of the grant is to support the researching and writing of a single-authored book in the above subject areas. Other kinds of proposed products (e.g., an edited volume or a co-authored book) will NOT be considered.

The Foundation will award at least three research grants of $60,000 each.

The deadline is June 17, 2019.

For further information, please visit:  Please submit your application to; do not mail a hardcopy.

The Naval History and Heritage Command (NHHC) fellowships, grants, and scholarships program is pleased to announce its awards for 2019–2020. The application instructions for each award can be found on the “Awards and Grants” section of the NHHC website Please use the NHHC digital application form. Applicants are strongly encouraged to submit all application materials electronically to Any inquiries about awards may also be directed to that address.

Closing Date for Applications: 15 April 2019
Announcement of Award: 31 May 2019

Rear Admiral John D. Hayes Pre-Doctoral Fellowship in U. S. Naval History
This fellowship is named in honor of the late Rear Admiral John D. Hayes, USN, for his enthusiastic encouragement of naval scholars and his own contributions to the field of naval history research and writing. The fellowship is intended to support research and writing of doctoral dissertations that significantly enhance knowledge of U.S. naval history. NHHC has awarded 28 fellowships since the program began in 1988.

Vice Admiral Edwin B. Hooper Post-Doctoral Research Grant in U.S. Naval History  
This grant is named after the late Vice Admiral Edwin B. Hooper, USN, a former director of naval history, for his great contributions to naval history. By helping to defray the costs of travel, living expenses, and document duplications related to the research process, the grant is intended to assist a scholar in the research and writing of a book or article that significantly enhances knowledge of U.S. naval history. Since 1988, NHHC has supported research of more than 50 grant recipients.

Rear Admiral Ernest M. Eller Graduate Research Grant in U.S. Naval History
This grant is named in honor of the late Rear Admiral Ernest M. Eller, USN, a former director of naval history, for his contributions to naval history. The grant is intended to assist a graduate student in the research and writing of U.S. naval history in the fulfillment of the requirements of a master’s or doctoral degree by helping to defray the costs of travel, living expenses, and document duplication related to the research process for a master’s thesis or doctoral dissertation. NHHC has awarded six grants in this category since 2011. From 1991–2009, NHHC recognized 26 applicants with the Rear Admiral Ernest M. Eller Prize for Articles.

Rear Admiral Samuel Eliot Morison Supplemental Scholarship  
This scholarship is named in honor of the late Rear Admiral Samuel Eliot Morison, USNR, an eminent naval and maritime historian and winner of the Pulitzer Prize. The scholarship provides a cash award to an active duty commissioned officer of the U.S. Navy or the U.S. Marine Corps with demonstrated leadership potential and high academic qualifications who is already pursuing graduate study in history, international relations, or a related field. The award is to help pay for expenses related to research, travel, and the purchase of books or other educational materials related to the officer’s program of study. Initiated in 1993, the scholarship has been awarded to 22 researchers.

The John A. Adams ’71 Center for Military History & Strategic Analysis at the Virginia Military Institute will award a $3,000 grant to a graduate student in history or related field working on a dissertation in the area of Cold War history. The award promotes innovative scholarship on Cold War topics. The Adams Center invites proposal in all subject areas—including international security affairs, military strategy, leadership, and operations. All periods of Cold War history are welcome. This year, the grant selection committee is especially interested in projects exploring George C. Marshall’s role in the making of early Cold War foreign and national security policy. The prize is made possible through the generous support John A. Adams and George J. Collins, Jr.

To be considered, graduate students must submit a brief proposal (prospectus) describing their doctoral research, a project timeline, and curriculum vitae with a list of references. Applications should be delivered, electronically, to the Adams Center at by 4:00 p.m. Eastern, Friday, April 5, 2019. Direct questions to Adams Center director Bradley Lynn Coleman.

Questions to:

Bradley Lynn Coleman, Ph.D.
Director, John A. Adams ’71 Center for Military History & Strategic Analysis
Department of History
Virginia Military Institute
Lexington, VA 24450


Ms. Deneise Shafer
Administrative Assistant
Fax: 540-464-7246

Online at:

On Facebook at:

Information on the OAH's residencies programs is now available on the OAH website:

Thanks to a generous grant from the Ford Foundation, the Organization of American Historians is pleased to continue the teaching seminar in the People's Republic of China, sponsored by the American History Research Association of China (AHRAC).

Thanks to a generous grant from the Fritz Thyssen Foundation, the OAH is pleased to continue the Germany Residency Program at the University of Tübingen. The resident scholar will offer a seminar on a U.S. history topic of his or her design to twenty-five advanced undergraduate and graduate students.

New! Funding from the University of Augsburg will also enable an extension of the program to the University of Augsburg in 2019.

In cooperation with the Japanese Association for American Studies, the OAH cosponsors residencies in Japanese universities for American scholars.

Also, the 2020 Richard W. Leopold Prize announcement is available at:
The Leopold Prize is given every two years to the author or editor of the best book on foreign policy, military affairs, historical activities of the federal government, documentary histories, or biography written by a U.S. government historian or federal contract historian.